British Columbia. Details of education programs in British Columbia are similar to those of the other provinces. Its central organization divides responsibility for: curriculum, instruction, adult education, university and college affairs, research and standards, home economics, correspondence courses, school broadcasts, visual education, technical and vocational education, community programs, Jericho Hill School for the deaf and blind, and examinations.

The majority of school districts provide kindergarten classes. In September 1971, 53% of the five-year-old population was enrolled in pre-grade 1 classes in the publicly controlled elementary schools and enrolments of five-year-olds in privately operated nursery schools and

kindergartens accounted for another 12%.

British Columbia's former 13-year system of education culminating in senior matriculation is being replaced with a 12-year system but the senior matriculation year is still available in universities, in some of the regional colleges and in some high schools. The predominant pattern of school organization consists of elementary school (grades 1-6), junior high school (grades 7-9) and senior high school (grades 10-12). Five of the six programs offered in grades 11 and 12 are vocationally oriented — commercial, industrial, community services including home economics (not specifically labour-force-oriented), visual and performing arts, and vocational. There are a substantial number of pupils enrolled in special classes, such as those for educable retarded, blind or deaf children. In most school districts, the less severely handicapped receive special instruction in regular schools but the more severely handicapped are taught in special schools under government or private operation.

Ten community colleges and the British Columbia Institute of Technology have been established since 1965. The colleges, operated by consortiums of school boards, enable residents of a particular geographic area to take the junior years of university or a post-secondary terminal vocational course. Vancouver City College is operated by the Vancouver School Board only, and the British Columbia Institute of Technology, which offers post-secondary career programs only, is operated by the provincial Department of Education. Trinity Junior College is a church-related institution which provides the first two years of university. Columbia Junior College, a private non-denominational institution located in Vancouver, offers a terminal career course in fashion design as well as university transfer

programs which are recognized by the University of British Columbia.

In addition to the hospital schools of nursing, the British Columbia Institute of Technology, Selkirk College and Vancouver City College offer the nurses' (RN) program and

Vancouver City College provides specific training in psychiatric nursing.

The largest degree-granting institution in the province — the University of British Columbia — has faculties of architecture, law, medicine, applied sciences, education, arts and sciences and others. A major development for the 1970s, based on the report of the Commission on the Future of the Faculty of Education, is the revision of the academic program and administrative structure of this university's Faculty of Education. Among the 85 recommendations are such innovations as the adoption of a single five-year Bachelor of Education program, introduction of the "teaching associate" idea, a new Master of Pedagogy degree, and student participation in decision-making at the operational level. There are two smaller universities, Victoria and Simon Fraser, in British Columbia and a number of small colleges, most of them church-related.

Yukon Territory. The Yukon Territory school system is administered by the Yukon Department of Education and operated through a superintendent and staff at Whitehorse, appointed by the territorial government and responsible to the Commissioner of the Territory. Schools in the Yukon Territory have always been publicly controlled, except for the federal Indian Residential School at Carcross which closed before the 1969-70 school year. In 1971-72 enrolment in the 22 schools was 4,806.

Northwest Territories. The Northwest Territories school system, consisting of the districts of Mackenzie, Franklin and Keewatin, is operated by the Department of Education of the territorial government. The official transfer of responsibility for education from the federal Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development to the territorial Department of Education occurred in April 1969 in the Mackenzie District and April 1970 in the Franklin and Keewatin Districts; 58 schools came under the control of the territorial Department, in addition to several schools already under its control. Total enrolment in 1971-72 was 11,209.